Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review | If I Fall by Ella Harper

if i fallTitle: If I Fall
Author: Ella Harper
Publishing: 2018 by Canelo
Genre: Romance; Women’s Fiction; Chick Lit
Format: Kindle ebook
Source: Netgalley for Review
Length: 237 pages
Synopsis: Four friends forever… But who will be there to catch them?

They were best friends at uni. But life was simpler then.
Fifteen years later Connie, a former journalist, now struggles to maintain the veneer of a perfect family life. Jonas, her lawyer husband, is feeling the pressure at work. Personal trainer JJ appears to have it all, but his past is catching up with him. Their other friend, Layla, is a psychotherapist, but her career is unravelling thanks to a difficult and ailing mother.
As the pressure builds, each in their own way must confront their demons. Sometimes things get too much. Sometimes we stumble and fall – and pray someone is there to catch us.

A truly powerful and unforgettable story of love, friendship, and real life, If I Fall is perfect for readers of Alice Peterson, Amanda Prowse and Lianne Moriarty

My Rating: ♥♥♥♥
Add to Goodreads | Buy from Amazon

Book Review:

I received this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not influence my opinion in any way.

It did not take me long to get into this book, I was invested in the characters pretty early on.

If I Fall follows four people who have been friends since university. There is Layla, the therapist who is dealing with a mother who has dementia; JJ, who is a ladies man, and hasn’t settled down, but is hiding a secret about his past that slowly eats away at him; Jonas, who is a lawyer who is stressed out from work and becoming a worse person by the day; and Connie, who is married to Jonas and slowly falling apart at the seams. 

If I Fall Photo

I realise that I just made this book sound like the most depressing story in the world. Though it is rather depressing, it is also hopeful and uplifting. I was most invested in Connie and JJ who were together in University, but had split, causing Connie to end up with Jonas. I wanted them back together, I could see that they still had feelings for one another but they just weren’t doing anything about it. Jonas was an awful person and I didn’t like him at all. He was just terrible. I understand why he was, it was needed in the story, but I dreaded his chapters as I read through. Layla seemed to be a lovely person, but I did find her a little whingy and whiney at times, although I can’t imagine being in her shoes, I would probably be the exact same. 

I did like that each chapter bounced from character to character, and within each chapter I got a glimpse into the mind of that particular person (even if they annoyed me).  I liked the fact that the whole story was edging towards a certain point, and that point happened right at the very end, keeping me invested the whole way through. I also am thankful that the story ended how I hoped that it would, it gave me a sense of closure, that even though a person’s life can be full of horrible things, everything does work itself out eventually. 

I would like to say thank you to Netgalley and the publisher of this book, Canelo, for sending me a copy of this book to review. I really did enjoy it.

Author Information:

Ella Harper learned foreign languages, and imagined she might eventually get a glamorous job speaking French. After climbing her way up the banking ladder, Ella started idly mapping out the beginnings of a novel on an old laptop.

When she realised her characters were more real to her than dividends and corporate actions ever could be, she left her job to become a writer. (Goodreads)

Website | Goodreads | Twitter

Thank you for stopping by to read my review of If I Fall by Ella Harper. I hope you enjoyed it and it made you want to add it to your TBR. If you have read this book already, what did you think?

Until next time, happy reading!

♥ k i m @ b o o k s a r e l o v e ♥

Goodreads ||  Bloglovin’ || Facebook || Instagram || Twitter

Advertisements

Share Your Thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s