Posted in Other

Library Haul

Hello there bookworms!

As some of you may know, I have moved house recently-ish and that means, new library membership!
I am now a member of the Fremantle Library, here in Perth, WA and it is adorable. I will say that it took me way too long to join as I have lived in the area for about two months..better late than never right??

Anyway, I finally headed down there and got myself a bit of a haul, which I am really excited to tell you all about, I have three weeks to read them all so hopefully I am up to the challenge 🙂 

Here they are:

nos-4r2Title: NOS-4R2
Author: Joe Hill
Format: Hardback
Add to Goodreads

Synopsis: Victoria McQueen has a secret gift for finding things: a misplaced bracelet, a missing photograph, answers to unanswerable questions. On her Raleigh Tuff Burner bike, she makes her way to a rickety covered bridge that, within moments, takes her wherever she needs to go, whether it’s across Massachusetts or across the country.
Charles Talent Manx has a way with children. He likes to take them for rides in his 1938 Rolls-Royce Wraith with the NOS4A2 vanity plate. With his old car, he can slip right out of the everyday world, and onto the hidden roads that transport them to an astonishing – and terrifying – playground of amusements he calls “Christmasland.”
Then, one day, Vic goes looking for trouble—and finds Manx. That was a lifetime ago. Now Vic, the only kid to ever escape Manx’s unmitigated evil, is all grown up and desperate to forget. But Charlie Manx never stopped thinking about Victoria McQueen. He’s on the road again and he’s picked up a new passenger: Vic’s own son.

Why I Borrowed it: I began reading this one earlier in the year but I couldn’t quite finish it as I wasn’t allowed to renew it any more times..I was in the beginning of a reading slump I think so while I was browsing the shelves I came across it and I thought that I would give it another go!

mime order Title: The Mime Order
Author: Samantha Shannon
Series: The Bone Season book 2
Format: Paperback
Add to Goodreads

Synopsis: Paige Mahoney has escaped the brutal prison camp of Sheol I, but her problems have only just begun: many of the survivors are missing and she is the most wanted person in London . . .
As Scion turns its all-seeing eye on Paige, the mime-lords and mime-queens of the city’s gangs are invited to a rare meeting of the Unnatural Assembly. Jaxon Hall and his Seven Seals prepare to take center stage, but there are bitter fault lines running through the clairvoyant community and dark secrets around every corner.
Then the Rephaim begin crawling out from the shadows. Paige must keep moving, from Seven Dials to Grub Street to the secret catacombs of Camden, until the fate of the underworld can be decided.

Why I Borrowed It: I finished reading the first book of the series, The Bone Season a couple of days ago and I was going to buy the book on payday, but I found it in the library, so I can get started on it and buy it in a week or so 🙂

 

nevernightTitle: Nevernight
Author: Jay Kristoff
Series: Nevernight Chronicles, book 1
Format: Paperback
Add to Goodreads

Synopsis: Destined to destroy empires Mia Covere is only ten years old when she is given her first lesson in death.

Six years later, the child raised in the shadows takes her first steps towards keeping the promise she made on the day that she lost everything.
But the chance to strike against such powerful enemies will be fleeting, so if she is to have her revenge, Mia must become a weapon without equal. She must prove herself against the deadliest of friends and enemies, and survive the tutelage of murderers, liars and demons at the heart of a murder cult.
The Red Church is no Hogwarts, but Mia is no ordinary student. The shadows loves her. And they drink her fear.

Why I Borrowed It: I have seen this book all over the online community and I thought that it was about time I gave it a go. Hopefully it is worth the hype..

room Title: Room
Author: Emma Donoghue
Format: Paperback
Add to Goodreads

Synopsis: Room describes the heartbreaking story of Jack and his Ma – who live in a single, locked room with no key. Jack loves watching his cartoon character ‘friends’ on TV, but knows that nothing he sees on screen is truly real – only him, Ma and the things in the room. Told from Jack’s viewpoint as he prepares to celebrate his fifth birthday, Donoghue lets you feel his anguish as Ma admits there is a world outside those four walls. Shortlisted for the Man Booker prize and compared to The Lovely Bones, Room takes a profoundly affecting look at motherly love.

Why I Borrowed It: I have been told by a few people that the film adaption of this is amazing, so I thought that I would try the book first, see what happens..

missing you Title: Missing You
Author: Harlan Coben
Format: Paperback
Add to Goodreads
Synopsis: It’s a profile, like all the others on the online dating site. But as NYPD Detective Kat Donovan focuses on the accompanying picture, she feels her whole world explode, as emotions she’s ignored for decades come crashing down on her. Staring back at her is her ex-fiance Jeff, the man who shattered her heart 18 years ago, never to be seen or heard from again.
Kat feels a spark, wondering if this might be the moment when past tragedies recede and a new world opens up to her. But when she reaches out to the man in the profile, her reawakened hope quickly darkens into suspicion and then terror as an unspeakable conspiracy comes to light, in which monsters prey upon the most vulnerable.
As the body count mounts and Kat’s hope for a second chance with Jeff grows more and more elusive, she is consumed by an investigation that challenges her feelings about everyone she ever loved – her former fiance, her mother, and even her father, whose cruel murder so long ago has never been fully explained. With lives on the line, including her own, Kat must venture deeper into the darkness than she ever has before, and discover if she has the strength to survive what she finds there

Why I Borrowed It: I have come across this one a few times in the past, and though I have only read one book by Harlan Coben so far, I loved it..so I am hoping that this one is good too..plus it sounds like a great read!

 

Those are all of the books that I got at the library this time around..I have three weeks to get through them all..challenge accepted!!
What books have you gotten from the library lately? Have you read any of the ones on my list?? If so, what did you think?? I would love to hear your comments in the box below!
Thanks so much for reading about my Library Haul, and until next time, happy reading!!

Find Me On Social Media:

Goodreads || Bloglovin’ || Facebook || Instagram || Tumblr || Twitter

 

Share Your Thoughts!

