Posted in Book Reviews

#BookReview The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon (@say_shannon)

The Bone SeasonTitle: The Bone Season
Author: Samantha Shannon
Series: The Bone Season Book 1
Release Date: March 1, 2017
Publisher: Bloomsbury UK
Source: Received from publisher for review
Format: Paperback

Retail Price: $19.99AUD
Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | BD
My Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥ / ♥♥♥♥♥
Goodreads’ Rating: 3.75 / 5 

Goodreads’ Synopsis:
For the past two hundred years the Scion government has led an oppressive campaign against unnaturalness in London.

Clairvoyance in all its forms has been decreed a criminal offence, and those who practise it viciously punished. Forced underground, a clairvoyant underworld has developed, combating persecution and evading capture.
Paige Mahoney, a powerful dreamwalker operating in the Seven Dials district of London, leads a double life, using her unnaturalness illegally while hiding her gift from her father, who works for the Scion regime...

Book Review:

*I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

The Bone Season is the first book of Samantha Shannon’s series of the same title.  I had seen this book around the online community and it was put on my TBR quiet some time ago. When I received it in the mail, so say that I was excited was an understatement!

This story follows a girl named Paige Mahoney who is a clairvoyant. However, she is one of the rarer ones, a dreamwalker, who is only just learning about her gift. She belongs to a group of clairvoyants called the Seven Dials, who are a sort of underground crime syndicate. 

Now, I am not going to go any further into the plot because I don’t want to give anything away to those who have not yet had a chance to read this amazing book!

I really enjoyed the story line of this book. Even though it is a long one, (452 pages), there is no moment of boredom, I didn’t find myself wanting to skip ahead to find out what happens, as I have had with some books in the past.
I had read the sequel to this book, The Pale Dreamer, before getting into this one, so I already had the back ground knowledge of what the story was about – I think that made the experience so much better. You can read my review of The Pale Dreamer here if you are interested..

Character-wise, I couldn’t fault Shannon. All of her characters were well written and well developed. They were growing and changing throughout the entire story. Paige was a very strong character, I found myself always on her side, even if the other character had some good points…as for Warden – he was probably my next favourite. I did not think much of him in the beginning, but he developed the most throughout the entire story and I was definitely supporting him by the end.

The Bone Season had everything. Great characters – both heroes and villains –  a great plot that sucked me in and kept me interested, and wonderful writing..it did not take much to imagine the setting throughout the book. I also enjoyed that there were flashbacks into Paige’s life, it gives us the opportunity to get to know her better, and learn what she is about, as she was such a secretive, hidden character.

The only thing that disappointed me with this, was the fact that it ended and I do not have the next book in the series! if you are going to read this, make sure you have the next one, I am dying to know what happens next!

About the Author:

sam shannon

Samantha Shannon was born and raised in West London. She started writing in abundance when she was twelve, started her first novel when she was fifteen, and studied English Language and Literature at St Anne’s College, Oxford, from 2010 – 2013, graduating with a 2:1.

In 2013, she published The Bone Season, the internationally bestselling first instalment in a seven-book series of fantasy novels. Its first sequel, The Mime Order, was published in 2015, and she’s currently editing the third book in the series, The Song Rising. She is also working on a high fantasy novel.

Website || Twitter || Goodreads

Find me on Social Media:

Goodreads || Bloglovin’ || Facebook || Instagram || Tumblr || Twitter

Share Your Thoughts!

