Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review | Six Years by Harlan Coben

six-yearsTitle: Six Years
Author: Harlan Coben
Publishing: 2013 by Orion Books
Length: 351
Format: Paperback
Source: Library
Genre: Fiction; Mystery; Thriller; Suspense
Goodreads’ Rating: 3.8 / 5 stars
My Rating: ♥♥♥♥
Links to Buy: Amazon | BD | B&N | Kobo
Goodreads’ Synopsis: 
Six years have passed since Jake Sanders watched Natalie, the love of his life, marry another man. But six years haven’t come close to extinguishing his feelings, and when Jake comes across Todd’s obituary, he can’t keep away from the funeral.
There he gets a glimpse of Todd’s wife … but she’s not Natalie. Whoever the mourning widow is, she was married to Todd for more than a decade. As Jake risks his life in the search for the woman who lied to him and broke his heart, everything he thought he knew about himself is turned inside out …

Add to Goodreads

Book Review:

This is the first book that I have read by Harlan Coben and I am impressed. I was perusing through the shelves in my local library (as I do regularly) and I cam across a few of his books. This one sounded the best, so I thought it was a good place to start.

This book starts with a wedding between a woman named Natalie and a man named Todd. The book is written in the first person perspective of Jacob “Jake” Fisher who is in love with the bride. She left him to marry Todd. In this moment, you can’t help but feel sorry for Jake, seeing the woman that he loves marry someone else..

“I sat in the back pew and watched the only woman I would ever love marry another man”

Ouch.

After the wedding, Natalie asks him to leave her and her new husband alone. This I found to be a little bit odd..I mean, why would he not leave you alone after you broke his heart?

It isn’t until six years later, that Jake sees the obituary of Natalie’s husband and figures this is a good time to break his promise. He goes to the funeral, only to find that the wife of the deceased is not his Natalie.It is another woman who had been married to him for a number of years and has children with him. This makes Jake wonder, what happened to Natalie?

We follow Jake in his search for his lost love. But things got a little strange. Jake finds himself trying to put all the pieces together to find her, but there are all sorts of people after him. 

I really enjoyed this book. It was a page-turner and I needed to find out what on earth happened to this woman. The circumstances are just too strange. And then there is a twist..and oh my. I didn’t see that coming at all, in the slightest! You are torn between wanting Jake to find this woman because you want love to win out against evil, but then you don’t want him to because all you have learned from the twist of events. My heart was in my throat and I didn’t know what was going to happen

The ending was absolutely perfect..I wasn’t sure how it was going to end, but the way Coben did it was just wonderful. I recommend this book to everyone who hasn’t read it already, it has definitely made me want to read more books by Harlan Coben!

Thank you for reading my review of Six Years I hope you enjoyed it 🙂 Until next time, happy reading!

About the Author:

harlan coben.jpg With over 60 million books in print worldwide, Harlan Coben’s last seven consecutive novels, MISSING YOU, SIX YEARS, STAY CLOSE, LIVE WIRE, CAUGHT, LONG LOST and HOLD TIGHT all debuted at #1 on the New York Times bestseller list and lists around the world. His books are published in 43 languages around the globe.

Coben is the winner of the Edgar Award, Shamus Award and Anthony Award – the first author to win all three – and he has received an eclectic variety of honors from all over the world. His novel TELL NO ONE has been turned into a hit French film of the same name. His essays and columns have appeared in many top publications.
Harlan was born in Newark, New Jersey. He still lives in New Jersey with his wife, Anne Armstrong-Coben MD, a pediatrician, and their four children.

Website || Goodreads || Twitter

Follow Me On Social Media:

Goodreads || Bloglovin’ || Twitter || Facebook || Tumblr || Instagram

2 thoughts on “Book Review | Six Years by Harlan Coben

Share Your Thoughts!

