Posted in Book Reviews

Audio Book Review | Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty

truly-madly-guiltyTitle: Truly Madly Guilty
Author: Liane Moriarty
Published: 2016 by Macmillan Audio
Format: Audio Book
Source: Library
Length: 17 hours & 20 minutes (14 disks)
Read By: Caroline Lee

Genre: Fiction; Contemporary; Chick Lit
Goodreads Rating: 3.56 / 5
My Rating: ♥♥♥
Goodreads Synopsis: 
Six responsible adults. Three cute kids. One small dog. It’s just a normal weekend. What could possibly go wrong?
Sam and Clementine have a wonderful, albeit, busy life: they have two little girls, Sam has just started a new dream job, and Clementine, a cellist, is busy preparing for the audition of a lifetime. If there’s anything they can count on, it’s each other.
Clementine and Erika are each other’s oldest friends. A single look between them can convey an entire conversation. But theirs is a complicated relationship, so when Erika mentions a last minute invitation to a barbecue with her neighbours, Tiffany and Vid, Clementine and Sam don’t hesitate. Having Tiffany and Vid’s larger than life personalities there will be a welcome respite.
Two months later, it won’t stop raining, and Clementine and Sam can’t stop asking themselves the question: What if we hadn’t gone?
In Truly Madly Guilty, Liane Moriarty takes on the foundations of our lives: marriage, sex, parenthood, and friendship. She shows how guilt can expose the fault lines in the most seemingly strong relationships, how what we don’t say can be more powerful than what we do, and how sometimes it is the most innocent of moments that can do the greatest harm.

Goodreads || Amazon || Book Depository

Book Review:

I have mixed feelings about this one..
Before this I read her other book, The Husbands Secret, which I wasn’t overly fussed with, so I wasn’t sure whether I would enjoy this one. I was warned by another blogger that it took a while to get into, so I went into it with this thought..

It is going to be difficult to review this book without giving away the secret, but I will do my best.
It wasn’t until I was halfway through that I discovered what the big secret of the book. When I found out what it was, it was something that I didn’t see coming and after I knew what the ‘accident’ was and who it involved, I couldn’t remember if the person was mentioned in the parts that were in the current time.
This book jumped from the current day, and the “day of the barbecue” where you needed to wait to figure out what it was that was so bad that occurred in that backyard.

There were six main characters in this story. Each chapter was in a different person’s point of view.
There was not really any character that I liked in the book. They were all a little annoying in their own way.
The story line kept going off on random tangents, tangents that probably didn’t need to be there. But there were parts that were cleverly written so that is doesn’t make sense until you get further along, and then the penny drops.

Once I knew the secret, I thought the book was going to get better, I just didn’t get the excitement I was looking for..I was very close to not finishing but I hate doing that, so I persevered, after all the time I spent listening to it, I wanted to know how it ended.

I kept waiting for the amazing ending, when I got to the end the person responsible for the “accident” was the person that I thought it was, it was quite obvious. The book had a nice ending, but I was just kind of glad that it was over..

About the Author:

liane-moriarty Liane Moriarty is the Australian author of six internationally best-selling novels, Three Wishes, The Last Anniversary, What Alice Forgot, The Hypnotist’s Love Story and the number 1 New York Times bestsellers, The Husband’s Secret and Big Little Lies. With the launch of Big Little Lies, Liane became the first Australian author to have a novel debut at number one on the New York Times bestseller list. An HBO series based on Big Little Lies is currently in production, starring Nicole Kidman and Reese Witherspoon.
Liane lives in Sydney with her husband, son and daughter

Website || Goodreads

Follow me on Social Media:

Goodreads || Bloglovin’ || Facebook || Twitter || Instagram || Tumblr

amazon-banner  bd

One thought on “Audio Book Review | Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty

Share Your Thoughts!

