Posted in Uncategorized

Book Review | The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

the-husbands-secretTitle: The Husband’s Secret
Author: Liane Moriarty
Published: 2014 by Pan Australia
Length: 402 pages
Genre: Fiction; Women’s Fiction; Mystery; Contemporary; Romance
Source: Own
Format: Paperback
Goodreads’ Rating: 3.91 / 5 stars
My Rating: ♥♥♥
Goodreads’ Synopsis:
How well do you know your husband?
Cecilia Fitzpatrick, devoted mother, successful Tupperware business owner and efficient P&C President, has found a letter from her husband.
For my wife, Cecilia Fitzpatrick, to be opened only in the event of my death
But Cecilia’s husband isn’t dead, he’s on a business trip. And when she questions him about it on the phone, Cecilia senses something she hasn’t experienced before. John-Paul is lying.

What happens next changes Cecilia’s formerly blissful suburban existence forever, and the consequences will be life-changing for the most unexpected people.

Goodreads || Book Depository || Amazon

Book Review:

I read this book as part of the Reading Assignment Challenge for 2017, this was my book for January.

I had high expectations for this book as it was on the bestseller’s list and had great reviews. Unfortunately, I wan’t overly taken by it.

The plot follows a number of different characters, who all live in the same town in Sydney and all know each other in some way.
I can’t say that I really connected with any of the characters at any point in the book. The only thought that I had was that I would not like to be Cecilia when she found out what her husband’s big secret was, and then having to keep it from everyone. The characters felt a little one-dimensional and I couldn’t really say that any of their stories stood out to me. I was, however, able to sympathise with all of their dramas, and at the same time secretly hope that I don’t experience the same troubles in my own life because they were realistic – which is a real plus – their ‘secrets’ and issues were things that could happen to regular, everyday people.

I liked the pace of the book, it wasn’t slow and boring, and it didn’t feel rushed. I am also a fan of the fact that Liane Moriarty is an Australian author 🙂 we need more of those in the world!

Overall, I enjoyed the book, but I don’t think I will be rushing to read it again, and I don’t think I will go out of my way to read any of her others (although I am listening to Truly Madly Guilty on audio book at the moment – keep an eye out for my review)

Thanks for popping by and reading my review of The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty. Until next time, happy reading!

About the Author:

liane moriarty.jpg

Liane Moriarty is the Australian author of six internationally best-selling novels, Three Wishes, The Last Anniversary, What Alice Forgot, The Hypnotist’s Love Story and the number 1 New York Times bestsellers, The Husband’s Secret and Big Little Lies. With the launch of Big Little Lies, Liane became the first Australian author to have a novel debut at number one on the New York Times bestseller list. An HBO series based on Big Little Lies is currently in production, starring Nicole Kidman and Reese Witherspoon.
Liane lives in Sydney with her husband, son and daughter

Website || Goodreads

2017 Reading Challenges Update:

Goodreads’ Reading Challenge: 5 / 50
Library Love Challenge: 4 / 50
Reading Assignment Challenge: 1 / 12
Audio Book Challenge: 1 / 20

Follow me on Social Media:

Goodreads || Bloglovin’ || Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || Tumblr

Share Your Thoughts!

