Posted in Weekly Posts

Shelf Control #6: Wuthering Heights

Hi there bookworms!

Welcome back to my blog! Today is Wednesday, that means that it is time for another edition of Shelf Control which is a weekly feature hosted by Bookshelf Fantasies and it gives us a chance to talk about the books that we have had on our shelves for a long time that we haven’t read yet. This week’s book is Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte. 

9.11.16 wuthering heights.png

Title: Wuthering Heights
Author: Emily Bronte
Published: 2008 by Vintage
Format: Paperback
Owned Since: I can’t remember, that’s how long it’s been!
Goodreads’ Rating: 3.81 / 5 stars
Goodreads’ Synopsis: Wuthering Heights is a wild, passionate story of the intense and almost demonic love between Catherine Earnshaw and Heathcliff, a foundling adopted by Catherine’s father. After Mr Earnshaw’s death, Heathcliff is bullied and humiliated by Catherine’s brother Hindley and wrongly believing that his love for Catherine is not reciprocated, leaves Wuthering Heights, only to return years later as a wealthy and polished man. He proceeds to exact a terrible revenge for his former miseries. The action of the story is chaotic and unremittingly violent, but the accomplished handling of a complex structure, the evocative descriptions of the lonely moorland setting and the poetic grandeur of vision combine to make this unique novel a masterpiece of English literature
Links: Goodreads \ Book Depository \ Amazon

Well that is all for this week’s Shelf Control thank you for popping in to read it..Has anyone read this book? What did you think? What book has been on your shelves for ages that remains unread? I would love to hear about it! If you have taken part in this weekly feature, leave a link to your post in the comments so I can check it out 🙂

Until next time, happy reading!

Kim x

Find me on Social Media!

Goodreads \ Bloglovin’ \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Instagram \ Pinterest

 

3 thoughts on “Shelf Control #6: Wuthering Heights

  1. I read it mainly because it was one of those classics I felt obliged to crack open. I’d heard enough about it beforehand that I can’t say it really blew me away. Not gonna lie, after I finished the book I watched a public television adaptation of it on Netflix and was far more entertained. Please don’t throw tomatoes at me…!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your comment! I am usually a fan of classic novels so I hope that I like it. But I have heard similar things from other people so who knows this might just be a dud. I’ll get to it at some stage

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts!

