Posted in Book Reviews

eARC Review: Safe With Me by K. L. Slater

safe-with-me

Title: Safe With Me
Author: K. L. Slater
Publishing: November 3rd by Bookouture
Genre: Mystery & Thriller; General Adult Fiction
Links: Goodreads \ Amazon
Format: ebook

Source: Netgalley 
Goodreads’ Rating: 4.02 / 5 stars
My Rating: 4 / 5 stars

Goodreads’ Synopsis:
Thirteen years ago someone did something very bad to Anna. Now it’s her turn to get even …

Anna lives a solitary existence, taking solace in order and routine. Her only friend is the lonely old lady next door. She doesn’t like to let people to get too close – she knows how much damage they can do.
Then one ordinary day Anna witnesses a devastating road accident and recognises the driver as Carla, the woman who ruined her life all those years ago. Now it’s Anna’s chance to set things straight but her revenge needs to be executed carefully …
First she needs to get to know Liam, the man injured in the accident. She needs to follow the police investigation. She needs to watch Carla from the shadows…
But as Anna’s obsession with Carla escalates, her own secrets start to unravel. Is Carla really dangerous or does Anna need to worry about someone far closer to home?

book-review

*I was sent this book by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. this does not influence my review in any way*

I requested this book because it sounded really interesting, and I am a fan of psychological thrillers. I can tell you that this one did not disappoint. 
The chapters in this book jump back and forward in time from the present to thirteen years earlier when there was some form of tragedy, but you don’t know what the tragedy is, all you know is this woman, Carla, had something to do with it, and you need to put the pieces together.

As far as the characters go, Anna is a little bit of a fruitcake. She doesn’t get close to anyone and she believes that no one is to be trusted. We work out early on that she was in a mental hospital for a while after the tragedy, and it is no wonder as she is weird. She witnesses a car accident, and she is determined that she needs to be there for the victim as she recognises the driver that causes the accident as a woman from her past that she blames for something (the tragedy that we need to figure out) and she is determined that this woman is not to be trusted so she needs to look after Liam, and is determined that he and his grandmother need her:

She’s putting on a good show pretending she isn’t fussed, but I know she’ll be panicking inside at the thought of me not being around”

I’d decided it was fruitless to waste any more breath trying to convince her she needed my help but I can’t help thinking I should really sit down and have a proper chat with her in an effort to make her see sense.”

Granted, it is a shame I’m having to resort to such measures but I’m just going to have to force myself to do what is necessary for the good of Liam and Ivy

Liam himself seems to be thankful for Anna’s help and her friendship. I really liked his character development, he got a little strange too, towards the end, but that is all I will say so there are no spoilers. 

Amanda is a little annoying in the beginning as you think that she is this villain that you don’t want around, my opinion of her changed as the book progressed, however.

Ivy, Liam’s grandmother, was an annoying old lady, who kept getting in the way of Anna’s attempts to look after her and Liam, even though she was a bit odd. As the book went on you figure out why she acted the way that she did.

All of the characters in this book morph and change as the book goes on, things happen that are completely out of left field and unexpected, but that is what made it so good. I didn’t want to put it down towards the end when all the lose ends were being tied up and things started to make sense. 

Overall, I enjoyed this book. However, there were parts of it that were a little hard to read, as there were moments of physical abuse towards children. It was a big part of the story and I understand why it was there, but just a warning if you do not particularly like reading those sorts of things. With this aside, I really enjoyed the development of the story line and characters. I would recommend this one to anyone who enjoys a psychological thriller and likes twists and turns that are out of the blue.

reading-progress

Safe with me.png

about-the-author

k-l-slater After years of trying to get published and never getting further than the slush pile, I went back to university at the age of 40 where I studied for an English & Creative Writing degree followed by an MA in Creative Writing.

Although I also worked full-time during the five years I studied at university, the courses gave me the time and space to try different writing and increased my confidence and belief in my writing. Before I graduated from my MA, I had secured representation with my agent, Clare Wallace, at the Darley Anderson Literacy, TV and Film Agency and had my first book deal (klslaterauthor.com)

Goodreads \\ Twitter \\ Website

follow-me

Goodreads \\ Bloglovin’ \\ Twitter \\ Tumblr \\ Instagram
Affiliates: Book Depository \\ Kobo Australia

3 thoughts on “eARC Review: Safe With Me by K. L. Slater

Share Your Thoughts!

