Posted in Book Reviews, Uncategorized

Book Review: A Court of Thorns & Roses by Sarah J. Maas

court-of-thorns-roses

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Published: May 2015 by Bloomsbury
Format: Paperback
Source: Borrowed from library
Links: Goodreads || Book Depository
Goodreads’ Rating: 4.3 / 5 stars
My Rating: 5 / 5 stars

Goodreads’ Synopsis:
Feyre is a huntress.

She thinks nothing of slaughtering a wolf to capture its prey. But, like all mortals, she fears what lingers mercilessly beyond the forest. And she will learn that taking the life of a magical creature comes at a high price…

Imprisoned in an enchanted court in her enemy’s kingdom, Feyre is free to roam but forbidden to escape. Her captor’s body bears the scars of fighting, and his face is always masked – but his piercing stare draws her ever closer. As Feyre’s feeling for Tamlin begin to burn through every warning she’s been told about his kind, an ancient, wicked shadow grows.

Feyre must find a way to break a spell, or lose her heart forever.

book-review

I read this book as part of the “That Genre” challenge, hosted by Closet Readers. This challenge got us reading books from a genre that we had not read a lot of, and for me that genre was fantasy. I just never thought that I would enjoy it, and I must say, that after reading this one and also Throne of Glass (read my review here) my opinion of fantasy as a genre has changed dramatically! I love this genre! So with that being said, lets get into my review.

A Court of Thorns and Roses is the first book in the series written by Sarah J. Maas and it follows Feyre who is a human huntress who hunts in the woods near her cottage in order to feed her family. One day she kills a wolf, only to find out that it was a faerie in disguise. Because she kills him, she is forced to live in the world of the creatures that she has been taught to hate but things begin to change, and her life, along with the rest of the realm are in her hands.

I loved every moment of this book! I couldn’t put it down, and cursed when I had to in order to go to work (annoying, I know) but I was determined to finish it tonight so I sat and did just that. My heart was in my mouth for 98% of the story as I had no idea what was going to happen to Feyre in the challenges set by the faerie queen. 

Feyre as a character was a little annoying in the beginning, she was so focused on getting back to her family as she needed to keep her promise to her late mother to look after them. It wasn’t until Tamlin swore that they were cared for that she started to calm down a bit and I really liked her from then on. 
Tamlin. Where do I start? I just wanted to eat him up. Once he came out of his shell he was so beautiful and sweet and dreamy! I loved him! Feyre is a lucky girl.
Lucien was a pain in the beginning but as the story began to unravel and we learned of certain things, I began to like him more and more. Towards the end he was almost lovable.
Then there is Rhys. Beautiful Rhys. I really wanted to hate him, and for a while I did. But then his reasons for doing what he did was revealed and he became that character that you hate to like, but you can’t help it. At the end I really did like him, and I am interested to see how he is in the next book.

Overall I adored this book. I think I chose pretty good books that allowed me to fall in love with the genre that is fantasy. I am super excited to get onto the next book, A Court of Mist and Fury to see what happens to all of the characters.

Thanks for reading my review of A Court of Thorns and Roses. I hope you enjoyed it and until next time, happy reading!

Kim x

reading progress.png
A court of thorns & roses.png

about the author.png

sarah-j-maasSarah J. Maas is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series (Queen of Shadows, Book 4, will be out in September 2015), as well as the A Court of Thorns and Roses series (out 5/5/15).

Sarah lives in Bucks County, PA, and over the years, she has developed an unhealthy appreciation for Disney movies and bad pop music. She adores fairy tales and ballet, drinks too much tea, and watches an ungodly amount of TV. When she’s not busy writing, she can be found exploring the historic and beautiful Pennsylvania countryside with her husband and canine companion. (Goodreads)

follow-me

Goodreads || Bloglovin’ || Twitter || Tumblr || Instagram
Book Depository Affiliate

Share Your Thoughts!

