Posted in Book Reviews

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas – Book Review

throne-of-glassTitle: Throne of Glass

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Series: Throne of Glass book one

Genre: Fantasy; YA; Adventure

Format: Paperback

Source: Borrowed from Library

Links: Goodreads | Book Depository | Amazon

Goodreads’ Rating: 4.2 / 5 stars

My Rating: 5 / 5 stars

Goodreads’ Synopsis:

Meet Celaena Sardothien.
Beautiful. Deadly.
Destined for greatness.

In the dark, filthy salt mines of Endovier, an eighteen-year-old girl is serving a life sentence. She is a trained assassin, the best of her kind, but she made a fatal mistake. She got caught.

Young Captain Westfall offers her a deal: her freedom in return for one huge sacrifice. Celaena must represent the prince in a to-the-death tournament—fighting the most gifted thieves and assassins in the land. Live or die, Celaena will be free. Win or lose, she is about to discover her true destiny. But will her assassin’s heart be melted?

My Review:

First of all, just let me say a huge thank you to Sarah J. Maas for writing and INCREDIBLE book! This book was so good I did not want to put it down to do life..I just wanted to stay in the world of Celaena forever! With that being said, lets get to the review

It is obvious that I adored this book. Every. Single. Minute. I am kicking myself that I didn’t read this sooner than now, but at least I don’t have to wait for the books to be published as they are all out so I can just get my hands on them straight away

The story itself was so interesting, I didn’t think that I would enjoy a fantasy book but I was so so wrong. Celaena was rescued from Endovier, which is a kind of prison as she was caught doing her assassin work. After one year she should have died, but she survived and was released by the Crown Prince, Dorian Havilliard, to be his champion in a to-the-death contest to become the King’s Champion, and ultimately her freedom.

I enjoyed reading about all of the characters, there weren’t any that annoyed me as such. Obviously there were “bad guys” but they were written so well that you only disliked them because they were villains, rather than because they were badly written. Maas did an amazing job with them all. I especially loved the three main characters, Celaena, Chaol and Dorian and the relationships between the three of them. 

This book is mainly about the competition to become the King’s champion, but there were side stories happening as well, there was something in the castle that was killing off the competitors and no one knew why; there was a little bit of romance, but it didn’t take over the story which was wonderful (and I really like romance, but not as the main theme in these kinds of books) there was enough to keep me happy, but not enough to be over-the-top. 

All in all this was a really enjoyable read. I borrowed this book from the library as I wasn’t sure if I would enjoy it, but I can tell you that I will be buying the whole series and reading them as soon as possible

Thank you so much for reading my review of Throne of Glass by Sarah. J. Maas. Please leave your comments below with your thoughts on the book, I’d be happy to discuss with you all!

Until next time, happy reading!

Kim

About the Author:

sarah j maas.jpgSarah lives in Bucks County, PA, and over the years, she has developed an unhealthy appreciation for Disney movies and bad pop music. She adores fairy tales and ballet, drinks too much tea, and watches an ungodly amount of TV. When she’s not busy writing, she can be found exploring the historic and beautiful Pennsylvania countryside with her husband and canine companion (Goodreads)

Goodreads | Twitter | Website

 

Follow Me!

Goodreads | Bloglovin’ | Twitter | Tumblr | Instagram | Pinterest | Youtube

 

 

7 thoughts on “Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas – Book Review

Share Your Thoughts!

