Posted in Other

Let’s Discuss: DNF’d Books

Hi there beautiful bookworms!!

Today I wanted to discuss books that we just cannot find in in ourselves to finish! For me this is something that I try not to do, once I start something I really want to finish it but in some cases I just can’t.
Unfortunately in the last couple of days I decided to quit reading a book that I thought was going to be good, but it wasn’t. It was really over-hyped and I just could not finish it, as hard as I tried (I got through 69% of it). So let’s chat about the book:

when-we-collidedΒ Title: When we Collided

Author:Β Emery Lord

Published: April 2016 by Bloomsbury Children’s

Genre: Young Adult; Contemporary; Romance

Source:Β Borrowed from library

Format: Paperback

Links to Book:Β Goodreads \ Book Depository \ Amazon \ Audible

Goodreads’ Rating: 3.85/5 stars

Goodreads’ Synopsis:

Meet Vivi and Jonah: A girl and a boy whose love has the power save or destroy them.

Vivi and Jonah couldn’t be more different. Vivi craves anything joyful or beautiful that life can offer. Jonah has been burdened by responsibility for his family ever since his father died. As summer begins, Jonah resigns himself to another season of getting by. Then Vivi arrives, and suddenly life seems brighter and better. Jonah is the perfect project for Vivi, and things finally feel right for Jonah. Their love is the answer to everything. But soon Vivi’s zest for life falters, as her adventurousness becomes true danger-seeking. Jonah tries to keep her safe, but there’s something important Vivi hasn’t told him.

This book sounded like it was going to be a decent read, and I had seen people raving about it in the online book community so when I found it sitting in my library I thought that I would give it a go.
It started out to be a little slow, boy meets girl, boy and girl fall in love and so on. The story line I don’t think was the problem, the problem was the characters, one in particular.

Jonah was lovely to read, and the chapters that were in his point of view were relatively enjoyable. It was the character of Vivi that I couldn’t handle. She was suffering from bipolar disorder. I have done a lot of study in the area of mental illness and it is something that I find fascinating but in this case the character just annoyed me. For starters she wasn’t taking her medication and the more the book went on it was obvious, but no one (her mum especially) wasn’t picking up on her manic episodes. This I just found a little bit odd. Her love for life (which in some cases can be refreshing) was a bit of a nightmare, it was just over-the-top and I wasn’t loving it.

I just spent a bit of time talking about the not-so-good parts, but I did enjoy some parts of the bits I read. Jonah was well written, he was a character you could sympathise for. He lost his dad, and was one of the siblings with the new job of looking after the family as his mum wasn’t coping. He also had a super crazy girlfriend, so that made you feel sorry for him a bit more. He was a regular 16 year old boy and I really did like his parts in the story, however, I couldn’t bring myself to finish reading it.

Discussion:

What books have you DNF’d?? Was this one of them?? Have any of you read this book and agree with me? or disagree with me and loved this book?? I would LOVE to hear your thoughts and opinions! Leave me a comment below and we can discuss!!

Thank you so much for taking the time to read this post and I look forward to reading your comments!
Until next time, happy reading!!

Follow Me!

Goodreads \ Twitter \ Bloglovin’ \ Tumblr \ Pinterest \ Instagram \ Youtube

5 thoughts on “Let’s Discuss: DNF’d Books

    1. Thanks for your comment. I do usually too I try to finish all the books that I start even if I don’t like them all that much. But in this case I kind of gave up. You should give it a go and see what you think. I hope you enjoy it πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I actually haven’t read this one yet, although I really want to! That stinks that you DNF’ed it. The last book I remember DNF’ing was Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. I just really couldn’t get into that book at all. Sometimes I think all the hype throws me off a bit. Because I also didn’t like Throne of Glass or The 5th Wave and was real, real close to DNF’ing those two as well. πŸ˜”

    Like

  2. I didn’t learn the art of DNFing until well into my 40’s. I suffered but did talk about it at length on a caffeinated confession post. I generally try to make it to 100 pages of 25%, but sometimes it happens sooner. It allows me to take chances, try new genres and authors. I no longer suffer from book slumps. I do not rate them or post on my blog because sometimes it is truly me. I do however, tell pub why (if an arc) and add a few lines to Goodreads as to why it wasn’t working for me. Great topic. Sorry this one didn’t work for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your comment! I tried so hard to finish this one it just wasn’t working for me. It doesn’t happen often which is a bonus πŸ™‚
      Thanks again

      Like

Share Your Thoughts!

