Posted in Book Reviews

Audio Book Review: When I’m Gone

when-im-gone Title: When I’m Gone

Author: Emily Bleeker

Publishing: March 2016 by Brilliance Audio

Format: Audio Book

Source: Audible

Narration: Dan John Miller

Length: 9 hours & 58 minutes

Genre: Fiction; Romance

Goodreads’ Rating: 3.93/5 stars

My Rating: 4/5 stars

Goodreads’ Synopsis:

Dear Luke, First let me say—I love you…I didn’t want to leave you.…

Luke Richardson has returned home after burying Natalie, his beloved wife of sixteen years, ready to face the hard job of raising their three children alone. But there’s something he’s not prepared for—a blue envelope with his name scrawled across the front in Natalie’s handwriting, waiting for him on the floor of their suburban Michigan home.

The letter inside, written on the first day of Natalie’s cancer treatment a year ago, turns out to be the first of many. Luke is convinced they’re genuine, but who is delivering them? As his obsession with the letters grows, Luke uncovers long-buried secrets that make him question everything he knew about his wife and their family. But the revelations also point the way toward a future where love goes on—in written words, in memories, and in the promises it’s never too late to keep.

Get A Copy:

Add to Goodreads
Buy from the Book Depository
Buy from Audible

My Review:

I had mixed feelings about this book when I began listening to it. I knew that it was going to be sad, as the story revolved around a man who had just lost his wife to cancer and was trying to mourn and care for their three children. However, when Luke began receiving letters from his late wife, Natalie, things began to get a little strange.

Where were the letters coming from and why? Luke was going to find out.

But before he could work it out, the information that the letters contained became more of an obsession to Luke than where they were coming from. Natalie had a secret that she had kept from him for their entire marriage and he needed to know what it was, no matter the cost.

Then there is Annie. Natalie’s best friend and now Luke’s. She thinks that his reading of these letters is unhealthy and he should stop, but he can’t.  He needs to find out what she was hiding. When he does, however, it is not what he was expecting and it leaves him shocked. It left me shocked, as I had not expected it at all..but I guess that is what made it better. I think I sat with my mouth fallen open for a number of minutes.

The letters themselves were a step back in time, it gives the reader an eye into the past, into the lives of Natalie and Luke before the present day. Natalie talks about the day they met when they were kids. Their first time, being intimate together as teenagers and their early life as young adults in college. It gives a good back story, and helps you to fill in the blanks and come up with your own conclusions of what the secret is that she is hiding.

When you work out the first part of the secret that is shock enough, but then there is a second part of it and that you just don’t see coming. It was wonderful.

The ending just tied off the whole story beautifully and made up for the fact that the first half of the book was a little bit slow, but looking back, it set the scene for the shock ending and it worked perfectly.

I really enjoyed this book, and the narration by Dan John Miller was really enjoyable also, even if his attempts of speaking in a woman’s voice sounded a little odd.

I gave this book a 4/5 stars. I would recommend it to anyone who likes a book with a little bit of romance, but not as the main plot of the story, and shocking plot twists that leave you smiling.

Thanks for reading my review of When I’m Gone by Emily Bleeker. I hope I convinced some of you to pick it up. For those who have read it, what did you think?? Leave me a comment below and we can discuss. It was difficult to rave about the book without giving away any spoilers!

Thanks again, and until next time, happy reading!

Kim x

About the Author:

emily-bleeker

Emily lives in suburban Chicago with her husband and four kids. Between writing and being a mom, she attempts to learn guitar, sings along to the radio (loudly), and embraces her newfound addiction to running. (Goodreads)

Goodreads || Website || Twitter 

Follow Me:

GoodreadsTwitter | Bloglovin’ | Instagram | Pinterest | Youtube | Tumblr | Audible

 

One thought on “Audio Book Review: When I’m Gone

Share Your Thoughts!

