Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: The Unexpected Everything

the-unexpected Title: The Unexpected Everything

Author: Morgan Matson

Publishing Info: 2016 by Simon & Schuster

Format: Paperback

Source: Borrowed from Library

Genre: YA; Contemporary

Goodreads’ Rating: 4.14/5 stars

My Rating: 4.5/5 stars

add-gr  buynow-bd

Goodreads’ Synopsis:

Andie had it all planned out.
When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future.

Important internship? Check.

Amazing friends? Check.

Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life.

Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected.

And where’s the fun in that?

My Review:

Where do I start?

I have heard all good things about this book, even though some say its not her compared to the other books that she has written. If this is the case, then I cannot wait to get to read those because they will be fantastic.

This book was excellent. I loved every minute. I have a feeling that this is going to be a very one-sided review..so lets get into it.

I thought that the characters were all written beautifully. They had their flaws, but they were human flaws, that we can all relate to, so I didn’t find them annoying which was nice. Andie always had a plan, and when that plan to leave for the summer and get away from her busy, distant father falls through she is lost. Although she is glad to be spending the summer with her three best friends, she needed to find a summer job. The job that she does find she doesn’t want, but it turns out to be the best decision as she finds something that she loves, that she didn’t really know existed.

Then there is Clark. Beautiful Clark. He is definitely on my list of fictional boy crushes. The way he has been described is just amazing. The more you get to know him, the more you like him (if its possible to like him more). He is smart and sensitive and wants to get to know Andie which I think is refreshing. He’s the boyfriend that every girl dreams about, and because of this, you are really hoping that things work out between him and Andie.

Andie’s friends are great too, they are supportive and caring and talk about everything with each other. Almost makes you want to go back to high school just so you can find friends like them.

The story itself was easy to follow and a good pace. It was funny and serious. It had love, friendships and family drama and was an all over good read. I think this was one of the first (if not the first) contemporary novel that I have really read, and I will definitely be picking up more. It had me laughing out loud and (almost) in tears. I recommend it to EVERYBODY!

Quotes:

Text message conversation between Andie and her dad, (made me giggle):

Alexander Walker: Andie you okay?

Me: Fine

Alexander Walker:It just sounds like your crying. At 3am

Me: I’ll keep it down

Alexander Williams: What’s wrong?

Me: I just finished Clark’s second book

Alexander Williams: Oh boy

Me: HOW COULD HE DO THAT?

Alexander Walker: I think there’s ice cream in the kitchen. Meet you there in ten

Me: Better make it five

 

“Here’s the thing.” Palmer said. “You’ve been really happy this summer.” I looked over at her, and Palmer went on. “Like, the happiest I’ve ever seen you. And its also the first time in forever you’ve had no plan. You’ve been enjoying the right now I don’t think that’s a coincidence.”

Thanks for reading my review, and until next time, happy reading!!

Follow Me:

Goodreads || Bloglovin’ || Twitter || Tumblr || Pinterest || Instagram || Youtube

7 thoughts on “Book Review: The Unexpected Everything

Share Your Thoughts!

