Posted in Book Reviews

eARC Review: Found by Emily Brett

arc-2 Title: Found

Author: Emily Brett

Publishing: 18th of October by SparkPress

Genre: Women’s Fiction; Crime & Thriller

Format: ebook

Source: Publisher through Netgalley

Goodreads Rating: 2/5 stars

My Rating: 2/5 stars

add-gr  buynow-bd

Goodreads Synopsis: Twenty-seven-year-old ICU nurse Natalie Ulster has a desire to see the world, in case she dies young like her mother, and a need to heal, which is compensation for her own damaged heart. Armed with an independence and self-reliance that stems from her father s emotional abandonment and wanting to separate herself from a deranged nurse whose husband just died under suspicious circumstances on Natalie s watch Natalie grabs life by the globe and accepts successive assignments in Belize, Australia, and Arizona. When Natalie meets Dr. Joel Lansfield, a physician who is also familiar with grief, she finds that Joel sees her for the strong woman she is, and loves her for all she has yet to figure out but she s not sure she s ready to make room in her heart for love. Desperate to maintain her emotional distance with Joel, she continues to travel. In each country, however, she finds herself confronted with near-death accidents, from a poisoned drink to a severe food allergy to being thrown overboard in the Great Barrier Reef. Too many coincidences force her to ask herself a frightening question: Is someone trying to kill her?

My Review:

*I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review*

I really wanted to love this book.

While there were things that I did enjoy, I think there may have been more that I didn’t which was a shame.

I really did like the plot. The nurse who is travelling the world to gain new experiences and meet new people..I loved it, because once upon a time that was something that I wanted to do. Anything that involves travel has my undivided attention. I also liked that these odd occurrences were happening far enough apart that in the beginning you could just put them to being coincidences, it wasn’t until towards the end that you thought that there may have been something more to it. In that sense it didn’t drag or go too fast, it was a great speed.

Now to the things that I didn’t love.

Unfortunately the writing style itself wasn’t up my alley. This is not saying that it was bad, just that it wasn’t my kind of good. I don’t normally mind books written in the first person, as it gives a good insight, but this one seemed a little forced, especially when it came to the conversations between characters, there were so many exclamation points, which sounds silly, but it just made it read more juvenile than it should of – if that makes sense.. Also Natalie herself was hard for me to read after a while. She was a little bit pathetic in ways and this turned annoying the more that I read. She is convinced that she is going to die young and is therefore determined to keep travelling so that she doesn’t have the chance to get close to anyone. This was working until she went to Arizona and she met an amazing man who was more than perfect for her. She travelled more to try and deny what she felt but in the end she went back to Arizona. They started a relationship but of course Natalie pushes him further and further away. I found this really annoying! I just wanted to shout at her (I think I may have been in my head).

Overall, it wasn’t a bad read, but I can’t say that I loved it.

About the Author:

emily-brett-emily_brett Emily Brett received her first bachelor’s degree from the University of Colorado Boulder in Kinesiology, after which she went on to Arizona State University to receive a bachelor’s degree in nursing. While working as an ICU nurse, she earned a master’s degree in nursing at Arizona State. She is board-certified as an Adult Nurse Practitioner and has been in the nursing profession for over ten years. Presently she serves on the Advanced Practice Committee with the Arizona State Board of Nursing, and shares a medical practice with her husband, a physician. She has been published in a number of medical journals, including The Journal for Nurse Practitioners and the Online Journal of Nursing Scholarship. She is also a member of the Women’s Fiction Writers Association. Found is her debut novel. (Goodreads)

Follow Me:

Goodreads | Bloglovin’ | Tumblr | Twitter | Pinterest | Instagram

3 thoughts on “eARC Review: Found by Emily Brett

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday #2 – _booksarelove

Share Your Thoughts!

