Posted in Weekly Posts

Friday Finds #4 (09.09.16)

Hey everyone!

I know that its been a while since I have posted a Friday Finds, so here I am, trying to get back in the habit of my weekly posting.

FRIDAY FINDS is a weekly meme hosted by A Daily Rhythm, which showcases the books you ‘found’ and added to your To Be Read (TBR) list… whether you found them on-line, or in a book store, or in the library — wherever! (they aren’t necessarily books you purchased).

The latest book that has been added to my TBR pile is one by Jodi Picoult, and it is called Small Great Things. This one is a new one to be released on the 12th of October so I am hanging out to get my copy. I am also attending the book event for this book in November, as I mentioned in this post, and I am super excited!

small-great-things‘I don’t want that nurse touching my baby.’ Those are the instructions from the newborn child’s parents. However, when the baby goes into cardiac arrest, Ruth, a nurse of twenty years’ experience, sees no option but to assist. But the baby dies. And Ruth is charged with negligent homicide.

Ruth is shattered and bewildered as she tries to come to terms with her situation. She finds different kinds of support from her sister, a fiery radical, and her teenage son, but it is to Kennedy McQuarrie, a white middle-class lawyer, to whom she entrusts her case, and her future.

As the two come to develop a truer understanding of each other’s lives, they begin to doubt the beliefs they each hold most dear. In order for the privileged to prosper, they come to realise, others have to suffer. Racism takes many forms, and is reinforced and underpinned by the structures of our society. (Goodreads)

Add to Goodreads | Buy on Book Depository

That is all for this week’s Friday Finds, I hope you enjoyed it 🙂 until next time, happy reading!

Follow Me:

GoodReadsButton  twitter  tumblr  bloglovin  pinterest  insta

3 thoughts on “Friday Finds #4 (09.09.16)

Share Your Thoughts!

