Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: Maybe Someday

maybe someday.jpgย Title: Maybe Someday

Author: Colleen Hoover

Publisher: Atria

Pages:ย 367

Genre: Romance

Format: Paperback

Source: Borrowed from Library

Goodreads Rating: 4.35/5 stars

My Rating: 5/5 stars

At twenty-two years old, Sydney has a great life: She’s in college, working a steady job, in love with her wonderful boyfriend, Hunter, and rooming with her best friend, Tori. But everything changes when she discovers Hunter’s cheating on her–and she is left trying to decide what to do next.

Sydney becomes captivated by Ridge, her mysterious neighbor. She can’t take her eyes off him or stop listening to the passionate way he plays his guitar every evening out on his balcony. And there’s something about Sydney that Ridge can’t ignore, either. When their inevitable encounter happens, they soon find themselves needing each other in more ways than one… (Goodreads)

Add to Goodreads | Buy from Book Depository

Review:

I think every book I read by Colleen Hoover is better than the last one! She is so amazing and I am very glad that I picked this one up.

Sydney is a regular girl, studies music, has a boyfriend and a great best friend and roommate. Ridge lives across the courtyard and practices playing his guitar on his balcony every night at the same time. They become friends, talking in text messages. Eventually they meet, and their friendship becomes strong, a little too strong.

Both characters are very easy to relate to, and you find yourself very quickly falling for Ridge. He is a little bit different, (trying not to give away any spoilers for those who haven’t read it!) and Sydney just treats him like everyone else, its refreshing. Sydney is heartbroken (we have all been there) and Ridge is there to help her heal, which makes you love him more. As their friendship grows, so do their feelings and you just want them to get together, but it is complicated. There are a number of hurdles that keep them apart, and it is heartbreaking. I was unable to put the book down, desperate to find out if their love wins over in the end.

The way that Hoover wrote this book made it all the more amazing. The whole book is in first person, each chapter alternating between Sydney and Ridge. I love having the insight from both characters, as you know exactly what they are thinking, rather than it being just one-sided, (plus I love knowing what the male characters think, makes it more romantic I think!). The reader experiences the torment that Ridge feels while he is trying to control his feelings for Sydney, due to there being things getting in their way, and as much as you know why, and you respect him for it, you still feel overly frustrated and sad that their love can’t prosper. You experience their heartbreak and their joy, and you may even shed tears!

Overall, to say that I loved this book is an understatement.it was such a beautiful story with wonderful characters. I think it may have even changed my life a little bit..I sat after I had closed it and just went over it in my head. There were so many feelings, I just couldn’t function. I think I may have experienced my first book hangover after reading this one. My favourite Colleen Hoover book so far I think, 5 out of 5 stars for me ๐Ÿ™‚

Who has read it?? What were your thoughts?? Drop me a comment to let me know!!

That is all for this review ofย Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover. I hope you enjoyed it, and until next time, happy reading!

About the Author:

colleenย Colleen Hoover is the New York Times bestselling author ofย Slammed, Point of Retreat, Hopeless, This Girlย andย Losing Hope. Colleen lives in Texas with her husband and their three boys.

Follow Me:

bloglovinย ย GoodReadsButtonย ย instaย ย pinterestย ย tumblrย ย twitter

 

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Maybe Someday

    1. Thank you! I took ages to write it, I wanted to make it worthy!
      It definitely requires a re read that is for sure. I borrowed my copy from the library but I’ll be buying it and Maybe Not as soon as possible ๐Ÿ™‚
      Yeah CoHo is amazing!

      Like

Share Your Thoughts!

