Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: The Death Cure (Maze Runner #3)

Hey everyone!

Here I am with another review 🙂 doing pretty well this month! This one is for The Death Cure (Maze Runner #3) by James Dashner

death cure.jpg Title: The Death Cure

Author: James Dashner

Publisher & Date: 2012 by The Chicken House

Pages & Chapters: 327 pages, 73 chapters

My Rating: three stars

GoodReadsButton  book-depository-button

My Review:

The Death Cure is the third and final instalment in The Maze Runner series by James Dashner. We are still following Thomas and his friends who survived the Scorch in the last book and are now on their way to WICKED headquarters and to safety. It is here that they find out that not all of them are immune to the deadly Flare virus that has struck the planet. WICKED is also giving the survivors the chance to reverse the procedure that ‘swiped’ their memories before they entered the glade in the very beginning. For many, this is a dream come true, finally some answers and some normalcy. But to others, Thomas included it is another trap and WICKED is not to be trusted.

Those who chose to not regain their memories have also made the decision to break out of WICKED. Only when they do, they find that all the other survivors have had the same idea. Once out they head to Denver to find the others and come up with a plan to destroy WICKED once and for all, but they come across an unlikely friend, who, ultimately helps them in getting the job done.

While this book wasn’t bad, it also wasn’t amazing. I think it was over-hyped. As I mentioned in by review for The Maze Runner – which you can read here – I really liked the story line. As the books went on, although the story stayed interesting, the love stories and love triangles that were attempting to happen kind of ruined it for me. Usually I am all for romance, but in this case I didn’t think it fit, and it did get quite annoying at times. Having said this, it was a relatively enjoyable book, but I don’t think I will be re-reading it anytime soon.

Thanks for reading my review! See you next time, and happy reading bookworms!

Goodreads | Tumblr | Twitter | Pinterest | Instagram | Bloglovin’

5 thoughts on “Book Review: The Death Cure (Maze Runner #3)

  1. In my opinion, this one was the weakest of the three… Definitely worse than the first book. I think the author kind of didn’t know where he was going to take the plot.
    So it was still enjoyable but not great. Need to read the prequel though. Are you planning to?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree 100% that’s what it felt like as I was reading it like he was a little lost. I thought about it..but I got a bit bored with the whole series so if I do i think I might wait a while..

      Liked by 1 person

    1. This is exactly how I felt about the last two books. They were enjoyable enough but nothing to rave about. Was a bit disappointed..

      Like

Share Your Thoughts!

