Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: Misery

miseryAuthor: Stephen King

Title: Misery

Pages: 368

Publishing Information: originally published in 1987 by Hodder & Stoughton

My Rating: five stars

GoodReadsButton  book-depository-button

Stephen King is a genius! I have loved his writing ever since I picked up my first book, and he hasn’t let me down yet! If you are a fan of King, and you haven’t read this one, you need to. Even if your not a fan, or not sure if you are, you need to read this. Its amazing. I promise.

My Review:

Paul Sheldon is a writer. He is the author of the bestselling ‘Misery’ series, but he hates the character Misery. He ends the series by killing off the character so he can continue with ‘good writing’. After finishing the manuscript of another novel, he is in his car when he has an accident. He is saved by a woman, she is a nurse and there to help him. Next thing he knows, he is in a strange bed, in a strange room and the woman is there ‘taking care of him’. She is also Paul Sheldon’s biggest fan.

Annie loves the Misery novels, they are her favourites of all the books that Paul has written. When she rescues him she hasn’t finished the last book, and therefore hasn’t learned Misery’s fate. When she does, Paul is going to need some help.
Annie Wilkes is odd, some even say she is crazy. But Paul is going to find out just how crazy she really is.

I loved every minute of this book. It took me a while to read (I hit a dreaded reading slump) but I sat and finished it today, and I am so glad that I did. One of King’s best books by far I think! It was creepy and weird and full of suspense just as it should have been.

 

Thank you all for reading my review. You can find me on these other social media sites:

Goodreads | Tumblr | Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Instagram | Pinterest

Share Your Thoughts!

