Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: The Maze Runner

Hi bookworms! I apologise for not blogging lately. I have been in a bit of a slump and work is taking over my life I am not getting a lot of time to pick up any books (which is making me very sad!)

But here we are I FINALLY finished The Maze Runner by James Dashner and here is my review!

maze runner Title: The Maze Runner

Author: James Dashner

Pages: 371

Publishing Info: 2010 by The Chicken House

My Rating: four stars

GoodReadsButton   book-depository-button

This book was SO good! I remembered it slightly as I watched the movie a really long time ago. It was a little different, but so so amazing I couldn’t put it down!

We follow a boy named Thomas. This is all we know about him, this is all he knows about himself. He wakes up in a dark room, and its moving. Soon enough he is in a place with a group of boys who are all in the same boat – the only things they know about themselves is their names.

Thomas is shown around his new home – called the Glade – and he is told how it works, and all the different jobs that he is able to do, from working in the kitchen, to farming, to running. Automatically he is drawn to the job of being a runner – a group of boys who spend their days running around a maze in order to find a way out to freedom. Thomas doesn’t know why, but he wants, no he NEEDS to be a runner. His wish is granted after he spends a night in the maze in an act to save a fellow glader -which no one expects him to survive.

But things in the Glad begin to change, and the boys need to figure out how to escape more than ever.

I really like this genre of books, I loved The Hunger Games Series and the Divergent series, so I thought that I would give this one a try. I was not disappointed! I have borrowed the series from the library and cannot wait to get into the next one!

Thank you for reading this review, and happy reading!

Find me on any of the following:

Tumblr | Goodreads | Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Pinterest | Instagram

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Maze Runner

Share Your Thoughts!

