Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review #3 – Ugly Love

ugly love

Title: Ugly Love

Author: Colleen Hoover

Published: Atria Books, 2014

Pages: 322

When Tate Collins finds airline pilot Miles Archer passed out in front of her apartment door, it is definitely not love at first sight. In fact, they wouldn’t even consider themselves friends. But what they do have is an undeniable mutual attraction.

He doesn’t want love and she doesn’t have time for a relationship, but their chemistry cannot be ignored. Once their desires are out in the open, they realise they have the perfect set-up, as long as Tate can stick to two rules – never ask about the past and don’t expect a future.

Tate convinces herself that she’s okay with it, but soon realises that it’s harder than she thought. Will she be able to say no to her sexy pilot when he lives just next door?

This is the first novel that I have read by Colleen Hoover. I have seen her books all over my instagram feed so I thought that I would give it a go, see what all the fuss is about.

This book had me from the beginning, which is trait that I love in a book, if its not interesting straight away it is more like a chore than an enjoyment. I picked it up from my local library on Monday and finished it last night, I just couldn’t put it down.

The best part about this book, without giving away any spoilers was the way in which Hoover wrote it. The chapters alternated between the point of view of Tate to Miles, but Tate was writing from the present day and Miles from six years previous. From the beginning you know that something happened in Miles’ past as at the beginning he is very drunk and emotional, and as the book develops, his rules for Tate are not to ask about his past and not to expect a future. This automatically makes someone curious about what a person has experienced in order for them to require this type of armour. As you continue reading in the point of view of Miles, you slowly see what happened in his past that he is hiding from Tate, and it shocks and saddens you.

I loved every minute of this book, I will definitely be searching for another Hoover book to read in the near future. I gave this book five stars on goodreads 🙂

This book knocked off one of my squares on the bookish bingo challenge – “Read a book featuring your dream career”. I did not mean for this book to knock off that one, but as I read I discovered that Tate is a Nurse, which is my dream career. It also knocked off “read a book with alternating perspectives”. So that is two squares down on my bookish bingo challenge 🙂

2016 bb challenge.png

Happy Reading 🙂

2 thoughts on “Book Review #3 – Ugly Love

Share Your Thoughts!

