Posted in Weekly Posts

Musing Monday #1

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by A Daily Rhythm that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…

  • Up next I think I’ll read…

  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…

  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…

  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…

  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…

  • I wish I could read ___, but…

  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

Plus there is a random question to answer every week, and this week’s question is:

Do you read more than one book at once, why? or why not?

So firstly, I am currently reading a book called The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards. memory keepers daughter

I am only a couple of chapters in, but so far it is about a married couple who have twins, the boy is born first and he is healthy and perfect, then there daughter is born (which they weren’t expecting in the first place). The husband is a doctor and ends up delivering the babies and he notices immediately that his daughter has been born with Downs Syndrome. He makes the heartbreaking decision to give the baby to his nurse colleague to take to an institution.

This book interested me as I work in disability and it is interesting to read how individuals with intellectual disabilities were treated during this time (the book is set in the 1960’s).

So far this is shaping up to be a really good read, so I am hoping that it lives up to my expectations. If I am still reading it next week for another Musing Monday, (which I am sure I will be as this book is just over 500 pages, and I am a slow reader), I will let you all know how I am going with it.

Now as for the week’s random question, no I do not read more than one book at once. I get too confused as to which story line I am reading so find it easier just to power through one book at a time.

Happy Reading 🙂

 

Share Your Thoughts!

