Posted in Book Reviews, Uncategorized

Book Review #2: Zoo

20160130_202833

This is a review of the novel Zoo by James Patterson. 475 pages, 98 chapters. Published in 2012.

This book was recommended to me by my boyfriend who had read it years ago. We watched the short one-season television series that was based on this story prior to me reading it, and although told it was vastly different, I didn’t quite believe how different until I picked it up. I am not one to watch a movie or series before reading the books, I like to form my own visualisations of the characters and the settings etc. before seeing it on the screen, I am sure that most of you feel the same way.

With this in mind, however, I really enjoyed this book. I enjoyed Patterson’s writing, as this was the first novel of his that I have read (despite having a large amount of his books on my shelves).

This story follows Jackson Oz, a PhD drop-out from Columbia University, who was developing a theory known as Human-Animal Conflict – or HAC. He believed that there was an increase of animal attacks on humans all over the world, and he wanted to find out why it was occurring. He followed his theory to Africa and through the US to find out what was making the animals act so violently towards humans.

This book has twists and turns and ends in a way that you don’t necessarily see coming. I very much enjoyed his work, and am looking forward to reading more by James Patterson.

Happy Reading 🙂

One thought on “Book Review #2: Zoo

Share Your Thoughts!

